History of The Brunswick Arts Council

Victor and Jeanne Gerloven, natives of Brooklyn, NY, dedicated their lives to art and education. For over 55 years, Victor taught art at the high school and college level; and after retiring to Brunswick County, he continued to teach art through the Associated Artists of Southport program for adults.

He received the N.C. Governor’s Award for Volunteerism and for over a decade tirelessly led the Brunswick Arts Council as president, while Jeanne, a retired Assistant Dean of the School of General Studies at Brooklyn College, New York City, served as the Council’s Secretary.

As a result of their diligent work, the BAC became the respected organization that it is today. Through the various programs to all the in the community, and assists and encourages local artists in achieving their lifelong goals.

2018-2019 BAC Board Members:

Executive Director: Susan Sims-Pritts

Mary Beth Livers – President
Connie Enis – Vice-President
Vic Guarino – Treasurer
Vacant – Secretary


JoAnn Staat – Visual Arts
Connie Enis – Student Arts Education
Linda Dorman – Performing Arts
Mari-Lou Wong Chong – Multicultural Programs
Susan Sims-Pritts – Grants & Development
Mary Beth Livers  – Marketing/Public Relations
Sydnee Moore – Website

Past Presidents: Barb McFall, Jeanette Serrents, Gary Halberstat

Recording Secretary: Caroline Bailey

Stay Connected

Google plus